July and August 2013 Favorites

Hello everyone and welcome back to Nerdy Shique Universe! July and August already passed and you know what that means! Favorites time! Sorry if I am a little late than usual, since school has started up again for the fall and I did have MythiCon Year 1, I had to do school work and do my review and it was hard finding time to write it and plus my fiance had me stay last weekend since he missed me. Anyways, so onto my faves!

L’Oreal

    Miss Pixie nail polish from the gel line: First is a L’Oreal product and it is the Miss Pixie nail polish from their new gel polish line that was released this past summer. It seems that since May that every line has released gel polishes like Sinful did it and loved it when I wore Amazonian from that line and Wet N’ Wild just released a new line for their Wild Shine gel polishes last month which I got on EBay and will try them out soon, now L’Oreal released this new line and heard about this color, Miss Pixie on YouTube through the haul videos. It is a dark, royal blue with some sparkles and man it’s pigmented! I normally get a lot of coats for one gel but this one took me three coats or was it two to get it working. I heard someone had to do four, probably exaggerating a little but I do like this one despite some bad reviews out there, I am guessing it’s due to first batch buyings that people had problems while I waited for my bottle.

    Wet N’ Wild

    Crackle polishes from Fantasymakers: A blast from the past returning on this list and that is the crackle polish set from Wet N’ Wild’s Fantasymakers line! As you know, Wet N’ Wild has their own Halloween line and every year they come out with new stuff and last year I got this and it was their crackle nail polishes that come in a set of three, silver, red, and blue, and one black polish for the base. When I first used it I didn’t read the directions and didn’t get the results I needed, but I had my fiance read them to me and tried them out again and decided to use the red one since I rarely do reds on my fingers and it came out as it supposed to. Unlike most crackle polishes, you get thin cracks versus the whole get more cracks for more coats, you need one and then it will give you a nice thin crackle. If these come back this year, I am getting more than one since I love these! I am also hoping they come out with new colors for it, like a purple, white, and orange maybe? Wet N’Wild, come on!

    Revlon

    Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Pink Pop: I think I was using the Pink Pop one during MetroCon, still I like this lip gloss! Even though it takes two coats to get on like some of the other glosses I own but still like the smoothness of its application. I haven’t used the lipsticks I have from the same line, I can see why this became a popular thing along with the Lip Butters. I may go back and get the Sugar Violets once which is a sparkling purple one in the line and I tend to go for purples. Still, a great product to pick up and it’s nice to wear during a night on the town, during a convention or not.

    LUSH Cosmetics

    Fair Trade Honey Shampoo and Happy Happy Joy Joy conditioner: Something from the birthday haul and it’s my new shampoo and conditioner, Fair Trade Honey and Happy Happy Joy Joy, which feel nice! I decided to start a new way of taking my hair and it’s not to wash it so often like I did before and try to wash it once a week and this combo is great for that! Fair Trade Honey is really great since it is made with actual honey and has other ingredients like linseed mucilage which helps moisturizes and conditions the hair! Better than the Honey I’m Strong shampoo and conditioner I used before these two, which helps my hair heal from that damage. With Happy Happy Joy Joy is best for curly hair like mine and it is made with the same formulation as Shine So Bright, which is the split end treatment I use from Lush, but this is made more as a conditioner. Some of the ingredients in this include almond milk which helps moisturize, then there is rosewood extract, grapefruit oil, and orange blossom poil as well to add a nice smell! If you have damaged or bleach your hair I recommend this conditioner since it will help out! Plus, it is very vegan friendly if you switched to vegan since a lot of the shampoos and conditioners have animal products and of course, silicons which is pretty bad for the hair. So, go and try these two out if you need something more refreshing!

    Hot Topic

    Black Heart Beauty Purple Lip Gloss: I was happy to find this when I went to Hot Topic and have been going a bit lot more lately since I had earring problems and I will talk about that next, this lip gloss was something I found while looking around in the Black Heart rack and seeing about getting more of the pink lipstick, which I got along with the shimmery one. I wore this lip gloss since it popped into my hands while looking for something to wear during my three day routine for lip products and it is like the pink lip gloss I picked up a few months back and it is very light on the lips. You may have to apply two times like the Super Lustrous lip gloss but worth it, especially when Hot Topic charges the same prices as drugstores for their make up. They are still doing buy one and get the other item a half off the entire store, so I was able to pick up the lipsticks and the next fave!

    Black Heart Purple Glitter Eyeliner: I never got to try the eyeliners that Hot Topic made, even when they had War Paint a year ago, now I am glad I did get to try the Black Heart one in purple glitter. I thought it was going to be a deep purple with silver glitters but it’s clear with the glitter flecks which is fun and easy to put on. I put this on my bottom line when I put the eggplant liner from Maybelline and it gives a nice sparkly sheen and a nice alternative to just wearing the liquid liner I have from Wet N’ Wild to go with it. It even adds a bit more pop to purple shadow, which I used my E. L. F. purple shadows to see how it felt and it felt nice and I like the feel. I will find a blue one to go with my Aquamarine gel liner to give that a nice sparkle, especially when I do a blue eye look, so glad I have to use my Hot Cash soon!

    Screw on piercing plugs: As I said above I had a bit of earring trouble recently. I didn’t know until by my second week of school, which was after MythiCon that I lost one of my gold hoops I tend to wear. I had these hoops since I was 8 and didn’t think I would actually lose one since I tend to lose them at certain times, which is true, after getting an infection from a pair of earrings from Paul Harris I lost a hoop but found it a week later. Anyways, I tried wearing a pair of diamond earrings my fiance gave me but irritated my ears and got the closed hoops from Hot Topic, that didn’t work out due to how the bead always falls off easily and gets lost and hard to find, so went back to exchange for these screw on ones that the guy suggested. I got a pair of Hello Kitty ones and another in blue sparkly stars and I am wearing the stars and like how they are lightweight and don’t tug like the hoops my fiance’s mom gave me for replacements. Great thing is that they do buy one and get a second for $5 from their piercing case that you tend to see in your local Hot Topics. I may get more in the future, unless I decide to get more piercings than just the single holes I have or just want to change up after a while in the holes I already have.

    Nail Care

    Strengthening nail polish remover: I love this stuff a lot! I started using the regular nail polish remover again but noticed that the one my mom had was drying my nails and the ones with the sponges inside weren’t working out like I thought before and went back to the bottles. I found one that helps strengthen nails which helps harden the nails after a polish gets cleaned off and for new paint jobs along the way.

    Snacks

    Green Tea Chocolate Biscuits: I mentioned these during my MythiCon review and it was one of the items I picked up from the snacks guys and love them! As said before, was hoping to get the Green Tea Kit Kats but he was selling these instead since he sold out during AFO the weekend before Mythic and was glad to get them! They reminded me of those catalog brand chocolates you get during the fancy chocolate fundraisers that you tend to get during school, which I remembered it happened to me when I was in elementary and there was this one kind my parents and brother ordered and it was a biscuit with chocolate, like those baking chocolate squares you tend to see but thinner and a cookie on top! These are like that but the chocolate is green tea flavored and goes well with the cookie. I may ask the guy about these again since I have his contact and he will be at Holiday Matsuri, which is great!

    Sour Gummis in energy and soda flavored: I love Japanese gummis and I found these at the guy’s stand at Mythic and they were so good I had to get more! I bought three more of the energy ones and one of the soda ones. I had to put these in one of the small containers I got in the Pokemon Movie 2000 lunchbox because they tend to get stuck to the packaging and the sour powder is pretty sticky. I wouldn’t eat these more than one at a time because the taste can make you feel like you’re eating two or three Warheads at a time, so be careful with that. Still, very tasty, hoping the guy has these again for Holiday Matsuri!

    YouTube Channel

    Grav3yard Girl: First time mentioning a fave YouTube Channel and that is Grav3yard Girl! I tend to watch her videos since they not only talk about beauty products but also talk about other things such as paranormal things, shopping, and ones that are of giving advice, which is pretty awesome. Plus I do like how she makes it funny in her own way. One of my fave videos she has done was when she was doing her Back-To-School giveaway and was talking about the stuff she got for it and man it was a lot, especially with crayons. I felt the same way when I used to draw I used to buy Colored Pencils like crazy! So don’t feel bad Grav3yard Girl! I did watch her August favorites and saw that her faves were from her birthday shopping trip while she was in California. Can’t wait what she has next!

    Song

    “Be As One” by W-ins from Fairy Tail Season 2: ::sighs:: I am such a Fairy Tail lover and since after Mythic, I decided to download the music after getting part 6, which is the second part in season 2 and this song comes up as the newest closing theme and it’s called “Be As One.” It is a sweet, poppish song from Japan and it is apparently the group’s single right now and they are known as W-ins, I think it’s supposed to be Wins but still this song gets in my head like how “Fiesta”, the opening for part 6, got into my head earlier this morning but this one seems to fit this part of the season since it deals with losing people that are close to the Fairy Tail guild members, especially with Wendy and Carla, who get introduced in this season. There should be more songs like this to close episodes and I would like to play it when we do Fairy Tail Part 2: Blind EXP if it gets chosen for Holiday Matsuri this year!

    Accessories

    Happy bracelet: Even though I love my Gray Fullbuster necklace, which is the Rave Stone design from RaveMaster but this is a major favorite! I love Happy from the series and I bought this bracelet that has different images of him doing different things like eating a fish, being mad, and so many other things, which is cute. I even worn it while I was cosplaying as Lucy at Mythic since I had so much to carry and I didn’t want to carry extra stuff with Happy, so the bracelet was the next best thing! I still wear it by the way and so glad it exists! I hope they make ones for the other cats that some of the other Dragon Slayers have, like Carla as an example.

    WWell, that is about it for this edition of my favorites! Next will be my next advice post on how to host panels since you guys may have seen someone’s comment about how I thought his Fairy Tail panel was not that great and I was being honest! So, since I host panels and I think this would be best to do one since the convention season here in Florida won’t officially end til December, before Christmas pretty much and since Holiday Matsuri is accepting panel requests, why not talk about how to do a panel right? And I am still trying to get my fiance get the interviews with Scott and Brittney from Metro so I can post them here so you can see what I asked them. So, til next time!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. BeautyCon Haul – Part 1 Watch here & Sub xox |

Leave a Reply

