Books: Karolina’s Twins

Disclaimer: This review is based on opinion and observation from the lad writer! Please respect her thoughts and feelings on the book that she just finished.

Hello Shiquers and welcome back to Nerdy Shique Universe and time for another book review!

Title: Karolina’s Twins
Author: Ronald H. Balson

Synopsis: This story is about a woman who have survived the Holocaust and must fulfill a promise she had made with two of her friends in order to find a pair of sisters that were sent away in order to survive the end of WWII in Poland.

Thoughts: This story was very well-written. It goes between the modern day since the Holocaust survivor, Lena Shheman-Woodword, goes to a lawyer and her husband for help to find these twins and then tells her story which we get a glimpse of Poland in the past. Like with the last book, The Girl from Venice, it does show how Poland was like during WWII but in a different area. A while back when I first joined Net Galley, I read another WWII story that dealt with Poland as one of the locations and that was Lilac Girls which shown how some of the Polish girls were sent to a labor camp like how Lena was in this one but sent to a textile one and the really big one, Aushwitz which was the major death camp. I decided to read this one after The Girl from Venice because it gave another survival story but this one was also fictional but based on an actual person’s survival or shall I say inspired by her survival.

After reading this book it got me thinking why would so many people be cruel to another race of people during a time of war when they didn’t do anything wrong. I know we see some of that today with what is going on over in the Middle East but this really knows how to drive the pont of WWII was horrible but very important in history especially with what happened to people who lived in Poland at the time alongside France, which is seen in Lilac Girls, and Italy, which was in The Girl from Venice. Of course it was also seen in the book I mentioned in my last review Everyone Brave is Forgiven where it is placed in London and gives two sides of the main character surviving there and her lover in Germany in how he survived being a soldier in that one.

This was a very touching story because it did show how much families can love each other during war and how so many can lose their family during that time but regain it once it’s over. I did like how Lena connected with Katherine, the lawyer you meet in this tale, since she was recounting her survival story but also knew that Katherine was about to be a mom herself and was able to connect with her in how much family can mean to oneself. I did also like Katherine because she was very strong during the trial that Lena’s son placed on her and that would risk her own career and how she was able to work with her husband, Liam, throughout the entire story. It kind of reminded me how I went through my computer situation and I had to rely on Gondras with getting our videos from Omni up and helping me get a job application done on a website that is not that accessible with my screen reader when I got my computer back and running. It shows how a couple can work together in order to reach their goals whether it is searching for two girls that survived or just getting some ice cream to calm that craving.

Rating: 5 Star Pawprints out of 5! I thought this was very well-written and gives you the past and present in one story. I felt like I didn’t want to close Kindle up because of how the WWII tale was being told. Yes, there was a twist and I don’t want to give it away but it was interesting in a way! If you are into stories with happy endings, this is one for you! If you’re into WWII history like I am that takes on a fictional aspect, this will also be for you! So enjoy!

Well, that is it for this review! You can find this book on Amazon for Kindle. And next time I will bring you the Convention Spotlight on MegaCon 2017!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

