Interviews: Katie Griffin from Sailor Moon!

Hello Shiquers and welcome back to Nerdy Shique Universe! SURPRISE! I have an interview for you guys and it is from one of the guests at MegaCon this year! I know it is kind of weird seeing it here when you guys tend to see me in action on YouTube whether wearing elven ears or a snowy white wig, but this is the best I can do since long story short we can’t interview people in person which sucks for us. But the next best thing was doing this. And if you remembered from our early days, this was how I did interviews, well transcribe them and I did one with Kyle Hebert through email before Omni Expo 2014! Who did I get for this one? It is none other but Katie Griffin! She is the original voice of Sailor Mars from our fave anime Sailor Moon! She is also the voice of Alex and Mindy on Totally Spies which was one of my fave series too when I was in high school going into college. What did I send her? Read on people!

Q1: Knowing that you will be in Orlando, FL for MegaCon, how does it feel to be going to a convention in the Sunshine State?
I LOVE Florida! I’ve been to Florida many times, and the sunshine never disappoints! My parents vacation twice a year in Siesta Key, so Florida is a bit of a home away from home! Looking forward to MegaCon!

Q2: I noticed that you have been to a lot of conventions, how do you like meeting your fans that have been long time Sailor Moon fans?
We are soooooo lucky to have such an incredible fan base for Sailor Moon. It’s really hard to compare it to any other show, but our fans are so loyal, and so supportive, we honestly LOVE meeting everyone, and hearing how much Sailor Moon influenced and shaped people’s lives. It’s really unbelievable how important this show was to so many people.

Q3: With all the fans you have met, what has been your favorite fan experience?
I get asked this question a lot. It’s a tough call. I honestly couldn’t tell you why, but Sailor Moon has affected people so deeply that we are frequently told how Sailor Moon ‘saved my life’. Some of our fans have gone through some pretty dark stuff, and Sailor Moon was there for them. These are the most special experiences for me. I have worked on a LOT of shows over the past 20 years, and even though I may have had a great time on some of them, or they were big shows for my career, I will never have fans coming up to me to tell me any of them ‘saved their life’. It’s pretty special to be a part of something that means so much to people.

Q4. What will fans see and expect during the convention this year? As in, what panels will you do and what events are you looking forward to while visiting Orlando, etc.?
Panels are never ‘planned’. People have questions, and we have answers. It really isn’t something we plan for. I have been to Orlando many times over the years. We went with our family to Disney world last April and had an absolute blast. Probably won’t have much time to do anything other than the convention, unfortunately.

Q5. With the roles you have done as a voice actress, what has been the hardest thing about recording lines?
The hardest thing about voice acting is getting a cold, believe it or not. Your voice changes, and you struggle to reach your character’s voice in many cases, and I never worry or stress about anything more than I do when I get sick. Perhaps for me, because many of my voices are much higher in range than my regular speaking voice, I struggle so much more. It’s an awful feeling. A cold for me, means that I’m not able to work for a week or two, or audition, because I sound so completely different.

Q6: Not sure if you have seen this but Viz Media re-dubbed the original Sailor Moon series, as in gave the scouts newer voices and even put episodes that weren’t shown to US audiences, etc., have you seen it and if so, what were your thoughts especially with the new actress for Mars? If you have seen it, have you met Christina V. (Mars)?
I am so thrilled that Viz Media re-dubbed! The fans have waited a looooooong time for this, and I think it’s fantastic that Sailor Moon lives on! I met Christina briefly a few years ago in L.A at Fan Expo, and she seemed super nice! Unfortunately, I haven’t seen the new dub, but from what I’ve heard Christina does an amazing job as Mars!

Q6. What was your favorite episode with Sailor Mars?

I liked whenever there was a little bit of comedy for Rei. She was very serious a lot of the time, so whenever there was a funny scene, I went for it! I liked every episode with Chad, because he was such a goofball! He was good for Rei! I also liked some of the silly bickering scenes. Rei had some of the best lines when she fought with Serena. It was silly. And, I really looked forward to it!! tee hee.

Q7. If you were one of the other Sailor Scouts or Guardians, which one would you be and why?
Hmmmm…..I change my mind on this question, but I always come back to Jupes. Sailor Jupiter was one tough cookie. I really liked that about her. I also like that she baked a lot. I don’t really bake…..but I like eating baked goods! Bring on the cookies!! *smile*

Q8. I always love asking this question to any voice actor, what was the funniest thing that happened to you in the booth or are there any pranks you did to a castmate while they were in the booth?
I would love to tell you that pranks happened on Sailor Moon, but we mostly recorded on our own, and time was always of the essence, so it was usually all business. I just completed two seasons of Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs, the TV series (I played Sam Sparks!) and I have to say I have never had more fun on a show, than I did on this one. We got to record as a group, and I was pretty lucky to work with such a ridiculously talented and funny cast. (I don’t think I answered this question properly, but no one has officially ‘pranked’ me in the booth, so this was the best I could come up with)

Q9. What is some advice you would give to anyone who wants to become a voice actor or actress?
First, ask yourself WHY do I want to be a voice actor?? If the answer is, “I like the sound of my voice”, or “people say I have a good voice and should be in radio”. If those are the only reasons, I think you may want to reconsider. On the other hand, if you are an actor and really want to dive into to this wild and wonderful world, wherever you live, you should research voice-over workshops. Get a little experience listening to yourself through a microphone, with headphones on. Also, you’ll need a demo. If you want an example of what your demo should sound like, you can check out http://www.voicebank.net, where you’ll hear hundreds of different demos. And, you shop for an agent. Being a voice actor really is one of the best jobs in the world. I feel very fortunate that I get to do this every day. But, it’s also and incredibly tough nut to crack. Lots of competition, so if you’re up to the challenge, do your research, take classes, make an awesome demo, and go for it!!!!

Q10. Are there any new projects for you coming up that you can talk about?
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs is airing right now on Cartoon Network! I’m also on a show called Luna Petunia on Netflix! I play Bibi Bubbles! Inspector Gadget CGi is currently on air. I play Kayla on that one. There’s also Wishenpoof! I play ‘Mom’ on that one. I believe Atomic Puppet is airing right now. I play Abby. I’m Mama Penguin on Little People. And, I play Kitty Boon on a show called Mysticons!!! (which I don’t think has aired yet)

That is it you guys! I am so glad that I had this opportunity to send Katie some questions to answer. If you guys are going to be at MegaCon, she will be there from Friday to Sunday according to the Guest List in the anime section! I am trying to see about some other people at the moment, I would say stay tuned here, on Twitter, and on Facebook for our updates. I would like to thank Katie for giving this opportunity as well, which I should drop by her table during the days she will be at the con!

What is next for Nerdy Shique Universe? Well, my Top Ten Songs for April which will be an interesting take on the list this month!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

