Books: The Twilight Wife by. A. J. Banner

Hello Shiquers again and welcome back to Nerdy Shique Universe! I know I just did a post like an hour or so ago but just finished another Net Galley title!

Title: The Twilight Wife
Author: A. J. Banner

Disclaimer: This review is based on thoughts and opinions of the lead writer and producer of this blog! Please respect her thoughts and opinions!

Synopsis: We meet Kira Winthrop, a thirty-four year old marine biologist, who doesn’t remember the diving accident that gave her a very complex memory loss and can’t remember the past few years of her life. She does start getting flashes of many things such as a man that she had remembered, remembering her college days, and even being on the island before meeting her now husband, Jacob. She wonders where are these thoughts coming from and what exactly happened during the accident and is Jacob really her husband or just a part of her complex flashes?

Thoughts: I never heard of A. J. Banner until I saw this title in an email among some science fiction titles and thought it was pretty interesting. This was more of a psychological thriller since Banner did write one called The Good Neighbor which was a big best seller on Kindle. I did try finding it on Bookshare but they only had this one.

I did like this book even though I felt a little confused in the beginning and starting to learn about Kira and start to learn about what she is going through. It started to come easily since it deals with someone trying to figure out what had happened to them and how it led to where she is now. It did take some interesting twists such as how she started remembering Aiden, the “husband’s” best friend and employee and wonders why is he always on her mind and if she was really with Jake in the first place. The dots do connect and they connect very well.

What I did like is how the use of tech was involved. It made the mystery more interesting since Jake was a huge software developer and he was using the internet and the computers in his office and in Kira’s office to his advantage to plant false memories and trying to take out the truth before her knowing what really had happened to her and Aiden during the accident. If you are into psychological thrillers, I would say check this out since this does show how someone can toy with not only your mind but wanting to keep the truth that you can’t trust the person you are with anymore. Also, it does make the island in the middle of nowhere idea very well since Mystic Island, which is where she is in this book, was a way of being away from it all and yet became her prison. It even got more interesting when she meets a fisherman that gets her confused as Jake’s mother but she finds out a little bit more about Jake even when she met Nancy and her husband, Van, which I felt like with how Nancy acted around Jake that she wanted him for herself and leave Van even after a scary event that took place during a dinner thing. I did feel how Nancy was a bit jealous towards Kira, that is how I saw it while reading. I even thought, If you want Jake so much, why not have him? But that would ruin the surprise towards the end of the book.

Rating: 5 Star Pawprints Out of 5! This book was a pretty good read! I did get confused in the beginning but it sometimes happens. The twists and turns were great and it did play the small island idea with a “Nowhere to Run!” idea when the secret has been found out. If I were to find a way of getting my paws on The Good Neighbor then I would give it a read. I hope I do find more titles in NetGalley by this author in the near future since so far so good as someone who already has a second book is doing pretty well.

That is about it for this one! I know it was another post so soon but it was fresh in mind! I am going to read a title by Kristy Barth but I have to read the book before it. Until next time!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

